After – A Quadrille

After the pebble has surfaced skipped

And the ripples have waved goodbye

After the bell has chimed

And it’s somber note has reached the sky

After the warmth from your arms

Has faded with a sigh

I wait

Eyes closed

Breath held

Welcoming

Stillness

It’s been a while since I’ve written a Quadrille (my wordiness always gets in the way!). This one was written for Patrick Jennings’ Pic and A Word Challenge #167 – Stillness.

It’s been a busy travel filled holiday so those moments of stillness have been few and far between. As 2019 fast approaches, I am thinking of changes, improvements to work on in the new year. I know this blog has evolved and it’s become less about running and more poetry based. Maybe it’s because I have been doing more writing than running these days, but that’s going to change in 2019 too! Thoughts? Please let me know in the comments.

©️ iido 2018

28 thoughts on “After – A Quadrille

  1. <smile> I’ve so many blogs in my past, each with its own intentions. Finally, I’ve landed upon Pix to Words, which is intended only to find inspiration for words in the photographs I’ve taken. How freeing that has been!

    I am happy for your evolution, and anticipate another year of growth and exploration for you. Looking forward to that. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Bridges ~ Pic and a Word Challenge #168 – Pix to Words

  3. i love how you write both, running and poetry, your forms are well crafted, but my favourite is reading your narrative, that to me is your forte, your method of expression is a beautiful read.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. First things first, this is beautifully written…your words created a serene oasis.
    Go with the flow, Irma. You need both running and poetry and there is no need to strike a balance always. Sometimes one will take precedence over the other and that should be okay.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment